FAQ | Drive Password

Getting started

1How do I create an account
You don't create separate account for Drive Password, all you need to access our services is to sign in using your Google Account
2Drive Password authentication method
Although Drive Password is as secure as your Google Account is, for your peace of mind we added second layer of authentication. You can choose from 3 methods of authentication:

- Custom password
- Pattern lock
- 2FA
3Is it free to use Drive Password?
You can enjoy a Free Trial with all features unlocked for 2 months. After the trial expiration, you will need to switch back to our free forever plan or choose to subscribe.
There is a free forever plan that you can use if don't have that many passwords. More details on our pricing can be found here - Pricing
4What happens after your trial has expired?
After the trial expiration, you will need to switch back to our free forever plan or choose to subscribe.
If you choose to switch to our Free forever plan and have more than 15 passwords saved, you will be asked to choose the 15 passwords that will remain active. The rest of the passwords will remain inactive (you will not be able to open, change them). At any point of time you will be able to export ALL your passwords (active and inactive), no matter the plan you are on.
5Can I create account with Drive Password without Google Account?
No. Drive Password is entirely based on Google Drive and you can access it only via your Google Account
6Sharing passwords
You can share single passwords, subcategories or categories.

There are 2 types of sharing - view only or edit.

View - the person can only see the passwords/categories, but cannot make any changes.
Edit - the person can edit the passwords/categories and even share them to other people.
7How many levels of subcategories can I have?
You can go as deep as you would like. Just like you can have many levels on your Windows and macOS folders
8I forgot my pass/combination
You can reset the password/combination by clicking the button forgotten combination on the login page. Simply follow the instructions and you will be able to access your account.
9Why you need to add emergency email
The emergency email is your best protection in case your Gmail has been compromised.

To prevent your Drive Password authentication method from being reset and stolen, we strongly recommend adding emergency e-mail. It should be different from the email you used when creating Drive Password account.

When you reset your Authentication Method, the instructions will be sent to your emergency email, not your main Gmail address.

If you don’t add emergency email, reset instructions will be sent to the email you used when creating Drive Password account

To add an emergency, please open Drive Password, click on Preferences and you will see the field for emergency email.

Type of accounts

1Newbie - Free forever account
The Newbie account is great for people getting their hands on password managers for the first time. It covers all the essentials and can be used on all your devices.
  • 15 passwords limit
  • Web access
  • Unlimited devices + sync
  • No shares
  • No support
  • Mac, Windows, iOS & Android
  • Complete control over your data
  • 2FA Option, Pattern Lock, Password
2Team - If you are part of something greater
The Team plan is suitable if you are part of organization and it is your responsibility to manage a lot of passwords.

  • Unlimited passwords
  • Web access
  • Unlimited devices + sync
  • Unlimited shares
  • Email and chat support
  • Mac, Windows, iOS & Android
  • Complete control over your data
  • 2FA Option, Pattern Lock, Password
3Master - The best option for power users
If you have a lot of passwords and secret notes and don't want to store your data on unknown servers, the Master plan is your go to solution.
  • Unlimited passwords
  • Web access
  • Unlimited devices + sync
  • 20 shares limit
  • Email and chat support
  • Mac, Windows, iOS & Android
  • Complete control over your data
  • 2FA Option, Pattern Lock, Password

Sharing passwords (Teams)

1How many teams can you have?
You can have as many teams as you would like.
2Can we use our corporate emails?
If you are using G Suite with custom domains - yes. In order to work, Drive Passwords requires you to login via Google Account.
3Can I share Categories, not only single accounts?
Yes you can share categories. Keep in mind that everything inside everything a shared category will be accessed by the person you shared it with including subcategories and accounts.
4Where can I find all the passwords that are shared with me?
You can arrange the passwords people share with you as you see fit in your Drive Password and can also access them within the Shared with me category
5What are the different kinds of sharing?
here are 2 types of sharing - view only or edit.

View - the person can only see the passwords/categories, but cannot make any changes.
Edit - the person can edit the passwords/categories and even share them to other people.
6Changing ownership of category or account
Changes to the ownership of an account or category can be made only by the current owner

When changing the ownership of an account/category:
  • Notification is sent to the new owner and she must confirm it in order the changes to be effective
  • While the change is not yet confirmed by the new owner, the category/account cannot be edited in any way
  • When confirming the new ownership, a window will pop up for the transfer of the ownership
  • After the owner selects the location where the transferred accounts/categories to be saved in her account, the changes take effect immediately and are irreversible
- The ownership can be modified from the "Ownership" menu - During the transfer of ownership the following are not possible - the process cannot be canceled - new owner cannot be assigned - the account/category cannot be moved - the account/category cannot be deleted
7Removing the access rights for accounts/categories that are inside of shared category
This is possible, but it has to be done manually from the items’ access rights.

Important The access rights flow from top to bottom. In other words, any changes in the parent category will reflecte on the rest of the accounts/categories inside.
8Sharing with team
You can share a single account or category with one person or whole team. If an account/category is shared with a team, it will be visible to every member of that team.
9New team members
New team members get instant access to every account or category that has been shared with that team.

Getting in touch with us

1How to contact us
There are several ways you can contact us to report problems or provide feedback. Since talking to you is of real value to us, you can reach out by using:

  • the built in support chat in the app
  • the chat widget on our website located in the bottom right corner
  • the contact form
2How to submit a bug
If you encounter any issues while using Drive Passoword, please do contact us immediately. Besides some short explanation, in most cases a screenshot and URL is needed. For screenshots, we recommend using free service such as www.pasteboard.co
You can upload your screenshots for free and share a download link with us.
Sign In